D.W. Smith Fellowship

The Canadian Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies is pleased to sponsor an annual research fellowship designed to promote research into the eighteenth century. The fellowship is named in honour of David W. Smith, professor of French at the University of Toronto. Professor Smith is a founding member of the Society and a distinguished scholar of the eighteenth century.

This fellowship supports students and researchers who do not have ready access to institutional sources of research funding. Accordingly, full-time university professors (whether tenure-track or tenured) are not normally eligible for consideration. The fellowship is awarded competitively each year in early spring. Applications are welcome in either of the Society's two official languages, French or English. Applications from previous holders of the fellowship are accepted, but will be adjudicated as lower priority.

Mark-Madoff Prize

The Mark-Madoff Prize was created in 1990 to honour the memory of the late Mark Madoff. It is awarded to the best graduate paper read during one of the Society's conference. Winners receive $250. Their papers are published in Lumen.